System Restore can be found under programs -> accessories -> system tools from the start menu. System Restore is used to restore the pc to a previous configuration by using restore points either created automatically or manually by you a specififc times. It can be used to correct errors that may be big enough to stop the proper operation of Windows. By selecting to restore windows from a previous point, you will not lose personal data, but you would revert the settings of various programs back to an older state or may even uninstall some drivers and programs installed after the restore point.
When restoring a previous state of Windows, it will automatically create another restore point in case you wish to go back to the original configuration. This is not available if you run the system restore under safe mode, however you can still restore older restore points. If you wish to undo the restore you just made, go back into the restore center and choose undo system restore.
Restore points are created automatically every day and when significant changes are made to the operating system such as the installation of new applications, you can have many restore points created automatically, however as they require 300mb for storing the restore point, you are limited by how much disk space you have.
When you run System Restore, you given a reccomended restore point with details of that restore point, however you can choose between different points which may be more useful and can be seen by clicking the choose a different restore point radio button and clicking Next.
You are given various restore points to choose from as well as an option to view restore points older than 5 days; this is done by ticking the box next to Show restore points older than 5 days. When you have found a restore point that you wish to restore the system to, click Next, If you do not wish to restore the system at this time click Cancel.
As can be seen above, once you have chosen a particular restore point, you are given options of which disks you can restore usually you will only need to restore the system disk but you can have other disks also using restore points and if these are enabled, you can select these disks from a lists similar to the one above. Once you have selected the additional disks, click the Next button.
you are asked to confirm your decision to restore from the particular restore point along with the exact time and date that the restore point was made and a description of what occured just before the restore point was created, Click Next if you are sure you wish to continue with the restore operation.
There is a further warning as this procedure may cause potential risks to the machine and should generally only be used if you have attempted other ways of troubleshooting the system and are experienced with troubleshooting the system.